Sprazzo Restaurant Testimonials

Read some of the many compliments we have received throughout the years.

I came to Sprazzo Cucina with a group of friends that I had met while studying abroad in Italy last summer. It is safe to say that our expectations for Italian food are high, and we were not disappointed! It was the perfect place for an authentic and reasonably priced meal. This spot is a novelty in Westwood. I highly recommend the Gnocchi Loren!

Yelp diner - Oct 8, 2015
Source: OpenTable.com


Excellent overall...as usual! Food, exquisite! Service, impeccable and friendly!

Yelp diner - September 12, 2015
Source: OpenTable.com


Authentic Italian restaurant with superb service. Italian salad delicious and shrimp pasta with red sauce excellent. Street parking on busy thoroughfare.

Yelp diner - September 2, 2015
Source: OpenTable.com


We went here after an early evening screening at the Crest Theater, and were delighted at the ambience, service, friendliness and delicious food. Would definitely visit again and recommend!

Yelp diner - August 5, 2015
Source: OpenTable.com


I love this place. It is a great date spot and the service is fantastic. The food is quality and mostly made from scratch. The bread they served at the beginning was excellent. They use a tasty olive oil and balsamic vinegar. We had the chicken parmigiana and a gnocchi with goat cheese. Both plates we really good and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is in the mood for some legit Italian food. Enjoy!

Yelp diner - May 17, 2015
Source: OpenTable.com


I have NEVER had a disappointing meal here ... and I've eaten there about 30 times! It is my most favorite restaurant in LA ... my husband's too!!! The wait staff is flawless, never has made one mistake and the food is amazing! Better than my Mom's Italian food and she was born and raised in Italy!!! I cannot say enough good things about them. You have to try it! You too will be hooked!!!

Yelp diner - Sept 15, 2013
Source: OpenTable.com


Try the balsamic vinegar. It's good enough to drink!

Yelp diner - May 25, 2013
Source: OpenTable.com


Excellent gnocchi. Service was great. Reservation was a breeze. We are already planning when we will go back.

Yelp diner - May 16, 2013
Source: OpenTable.com


Came here for a birthday dinner, and it was rather nice. Made a reservation for 2, and we got there right on time. The service was great, and was able to accommodate all of our requests! My boyfriend wanted chicken fettuccine alfredo and even though it wasn't specifically on the menu, they made it for him. I tried the pasta and meatballs, and I have also tried the gnocchi. SO GOOD. I could eat the gnocchi forever. so delicious. Even waiting for our food, they brought us some bread with balsamic vinegar, and let me say, this vinegar is the BEST! So delicious and sweet, I wish I could buy a bottle of it (you probably could!). I tried some of their white wine (I think it was a moscato? I don't remember); I'm not a wine connoisseur but it was really good. We also ordered and split the tiramisu. It was SO good. just thinking about it makes me want some right now! The bill wasn't too bad, and it was definitely worth the price! Just the right portions and enough to make you satisfied!

Yelp diner - March 3, 2013
Source: OpenTable.com


Dinner at Sprazzo was fantastic! I've been here twice for a nice date night with the wife, and each time was great. The service was great, ambiance was nice, food came promptly, and the bill didn't break the bank. We were super hungry, so, ordered a ton of food, and it was all super delicious. You must order the Bruschetta - seriously some of the best I've ever had. We also had the pesto gnocchi, and chicken marsala - each was delicious. Definitely a great date night spot.

Yelp diner - February 21, 2013
Source: OpenTable.com


Very good pre-theater restaurant in Westwood. Good selection of different Italian salads, appetizers, pastas, entrees, and pizzas. Better than your typical Italian fare, but not over the top in price or snooty attitude. Stylish interior. Quiet. Friendly staff. Good wine list. Wife and I each ordered a salad (they are large). I then had a pizza and she ordered gnocchi. Given that it's Westwood and south of Wilshire, street parking can be hard to find.

OpenTable diner - February 6, 2013
Source: OpenTable.com


Delightful, cozy warm atmosphere with friendly attentive service and outstanding food, modestly priced. "Neighborhood gem" is a perfect description. We will return for sure.

OpenTable diner - February 2, 2013
Source: OpenTable.com


This was our first visit. We ordered Gnocchi Sinatra (chicken sausage, sun-dried tomatoes and basil in marinara sauce) and the Gnocchi Pesto. Both were excellent. Also had Cream of Zucchini soup and Italian Apple Crisp. Lovely meal and superior service. Of particular note; the bus boy was exceptional. The best I've ever seen! He was also the food runner. He was so gracious and attentive to small details and nuances of service. If I owned a restaurant, I'd totally want this guy working at my place! Anyway, we just really appreciated the unusally good service. And, we will be back for the delicious food too.

Yelp diner - December 11, 2012
Source: OpenTable.com


I love being invited to a friend's favorite restaurant! If they like it enough to consider it their favorite, then chances are it is pretty good. We came to Sprazzo to help celebrate a friend's birthday at her favorite place. The food and service were excellent! I was especially excited to try something I had never had before, the Gnocchi! The menu describes Gnocchi as small handmade fresh potato and flour dumplings. I got the Gnocchi Pavarotti plate, which is mixed with Sprazzo's delicious meat sauce. The only thing that could made the order better was if it was a bigger portion. Since I liked it so much, I could have easily eaten a second (and possibly third) order. I really enjoyed the food at Sprazzo and will be back for sure. It is a small place that is perfectly romantic for a date or a quiet dinner with friends. I look forward to trying more of their menu, and of course to have the Gnocchi again.

Yelp diner - October 1, 2012
Source: OpenTable.com


Excellent food and service. We had an amazing 90 minute dining experience and we all felt stuffed. We walked off dinner about a mile in time to catch the basketball game at Pauley Pavillion. Don't miss the bread,dip and balsamic!

OpenTable diner - November 11, 2012
Source: OpenTable.com


I love Sprazzo! Been here twice so far and have had a great experience both times. The food is delicious and the staff and owner are very nice and friendly. If you sign up for their emails they send you coupons a couple of times a week too. When I came for dinner on a Saturday with a friend the place was pretty full, but there was no wait and no need for a reservation. We, of course, started with their amazing bread that they bring out and tonight they had a garbanzo paste (the last time I had gone they had a chimichurri-like spread). As an appetizer we ordered the flatbread, which was really good. I ordered a gnocchi dish off of the specials menu that had Italian chicken sausage, mushrooms and a pink bolognese sauce. They waiter suggested it to me and I'm glad I listened because it was soooo good!! My fried ordered a pasta dish that came with broccoli in a white wine sauce and she also loved it. For dessert we ordered the Tiramisu (also suggested by our waiter) and it was also very good, the portion was huge though so only order this if you're sharing. The prices are average for a nice restaurant in Westwood and definitely worth it because everything tastes so good. Can't wait to go back!

Yelp diner - September 27, 2012
Source: OpenTable.com


The restaurant has a very warm, inviting feel. The food is always first rate and the service impeccable.

OpenTable diner - September 24, 2011
Source: OpenTable.com

When was the last time you went to the same restaurant two times in two days? Oh yes, I did. Sprazzo is that place for me. I stumbled upon this lovely restaurant completely by accident my first time, after switching offices (but working for the same company) in West LA. However, the second time was no accident! A run down of the highlights:

  • really nice dining area (View user photo)
  • kick ASS bread. It is served warm with chimichurri sauce. (Hey Glendon Bar & Kitchen, did you hear that? The bread is WARM!) Now I know what you're thinking.... I thought chimichurri sauce is Argentinean, too. Don't ask questions. Just eat. It's the best chimichurri sauce I've ever had. (View user photo)
  • Francesca salad was a daily special, and happens to tap into your inner child with a grown-up version of chicken fingers & honey mustard dressing. It came on a bed of arugula and shaved parmesan, so as a salad it balances out nicely. (View user photo)

I had pasta on my 2nd day, and I was so excited to eat that I forgot to take a picture =( You'll have to take my word for it, that it was awesome. I'm not sure there is a bad thing on the menu.

Yelp diner - September 15, 2011
Source: Yelp.com


I had my Birthday dinner at Sprazzo with about 20 of my friends. I was a bit nervous that they will not be able to handle a large group, but upon arriving early, I was pleasantly surprised that our table was ready. They sat our party next to a wall, so it was a bit tricky to get in and out, but not too bad. Also, 2 people in my party cancelled last minute and the table was so packed without them, that it made me question their seating arrangement. So if you plan on hosting a large party, state your seating preferences in advance, it's a small place.

I've eaten at Sprazzo three times now and every time was very pleased with the food and service. Their bread with garlic butter is to die for! I started with Bruschetta Toscana and it was very fresh and garlicky. For main course, I ordered Ravioli Portobello - very creamy, pasta tasted great. Many of my friends have complimented their choices as well, and only one couple was disappointed with their selection. As with any 20-people group, you have some people that are happy and some that are not, but overall I was pleased with my Birthday dinner.

Parking is really tough, no valet (although I believe there used to be a valet parking there). So try residential streets parallel to Westwood, many of my guests found parking there. I chose to bring my own wine and pay corkage fee ($15/bottle), most wine bottles are $40+, so it was worth it. I really like the ambiance at Sprazzo, it's a very cute and romantic restaurant, perfect for dates.

Yelp diner - August 17, 0211
Source: Yelp.com


I went to this restaurant after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed. The food was truly excellent. The wine was fantastic. The atmosphere was very comfortable and the service was great. I went with a party of 12 and we had a fantastic time. This restaurant deserves 6 stars.

TripAdvisor diner - July 30, 2011
Source: TripAdvisor.com


We discovered Sprazzo's quite by accident last year during a visit to L.A. and we make a point of going every time we are in the area. The food is fantastic. Don't miss the gnocchi. Great wine list, helpful staff and always a visit from the owner who warmly asks about your dinner. We celebrated my son's 21st birthday there. With all the hyped up restaurants in the area, this one is for real, you'll love it there.

OpenTable diner - July 28, 2011
Source: OpenTable.com


This was my first time to Sprazzo, and it was an incredible treat. The restaurant is family-run with a definite family warmth to it. The owner took a personal interest in everyone's well-being. His suggestions were spot on. My friend and I shared an order of the tomato and basil gnocchi, and it was absolutely delicious. The texture was perfect, and the taste was heavenly. Both of us ordered the chicken marsala as the main course, and it didn't disappoint. As recommended by the owner, we both had a very smooth pinot noir to accompany our meal. Even though we were both stuffed, seeing that we were celebrating my birthday, we made room for the warm apple crisp. Unlike an American crisp, this one had more the texture of a moist apple cake. It was served with a scoop of creamy vanilla gelato. The contrast between the warmth of the crisp (which is not crispy at all) and the gelato was divine. I will most certainly be returning to this wonderful little restaurant despite the one drawback - the parking. We had to park five blocks away, and this was on a Monday night. That said, it's a great restaurant with very reasonable prices.

TripAdvisor diner - June 14, 2011
Source: TripAdvisor.com


Sprazzo is an intimate one room Italian restaurant with two or three tables outside. This is a family run restaurant, and the service and food reflect that. There are many dishes prepared from old family recipes on the menu. We split an order of gnochi for which the restaurant is well known. The gnochi are light and flavorful. We then had the chicken Marsala with mushrooms, which came with mashed potatoes and perfectly done vegetables. At the recommendation of the owner, we accompanied that with glasses of pinot noir. The wine was perfect and enhanced the meal. We finished with the apple tart with vanilla ice cream, which could easily serve three.

OpenTable diner - June 6, 2011
Source: OpenTable.com


Great Italian food with wonderful service just south of UCLA and the heart of Westwood. Moderately priced, especially considering the quality of food and the location

OpenTable diner - March 16, 2011
Source: OpenTable.com


I love this neighborhood gem! The food is amazing and the people are so lovely. They were very accommodating with my young son too. All around a great place near my home.

OpenTable diner - March 4, 2011
Source: OpenTable.com


My dining experience at Sprazzo was truly delightful. I had the chicken sandwich with the arugula salad and couldn't have been more satisfied with my choices. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone. It is great for a lunch date and works perfectly for a romantic dinner or first date. As far as desserts, Sprazzo has the best homemade delicacies. The tiramisu and mascarpone are to die for. Everyone will love the pasta dish selections and the extensive and unique wine list. And how could I forget, the homemade bread!! The bread paired with their homemade balsamic sauce is delicious and one my favorite things. Sprazzo Cucina Italiana is a must! Don't miss out on this dining experience. Excellent owners and service!

OpenTable diner - March 3, 2011
Source: OpenTable.com


The food was AMAZING! There is quite a selection of gnocchi (my favorite!), so I was a happy camper... especially with the Gnocchi Sinatra! The wine list is extensive and decently priced for the options. The service was very respectable and the decor tied it all together. Only downfall would be the noise on the street, but it wasn't too bad considering it is Westwood Blvd on a Saturday evening. Overall, we were greatly pleased with our dining experience and can't wait to return! =)

OpenTable diner - January 15, 2011
Source: OpenTable.com


Small quiet neighborhood restaurant with some of the best Italian food I have every had. I am Italian and this is upscale cuisine.

OpenTable diner - December 1, 2010
Source: OpenTable.com


I absolutely love Sprazzo. I started going there when my boyfriend lived in Westwood and it was within walking distance from his place. We now live in Thousand Oaks and I definitely do not mind making the trip to have a great dinner. All the food is fantastic. This is the only place I go to where every time I go I get every course. The bruschetta is excellent, tastes as good as a little place in Italy that I went to. I have tried the pizza, multiple pasta dishes and the Chicken Parmesan and have never been disappointed. The apple crisp is by far the best desert but I don't eat chocolate so I'm sure their chocolate deserts are good too.

Posted by Renee R. on October 7, 2010
Source: Yelp.com


I tried this place one sunday night because Pomodoro Trattoria was closed. This is a great place! I had the penne sprazzo which was surprisingly light even though it had a cream sauce. It had chicken, broccoli, and cream sauce. Delicious! They also bring this caper sauce with bread at the beginning which is amazing! I think that I like Pomodoro Trattoria better but this place is great as well!

Posted by Brandon C. on October 1, 2010
Source: Yelp.com


My love and I have been going to Sprazzo each and every week for the last 6 years. The food is fabulous and the atmosphere is perfect. The place is quaint, with perfect lighting. It is never loud and the decor is beautiful. The staff treats their customers like family. Each night they have dinner specials which are yummy and their regular menu is fabulous as well. My faves include the lasagna (special only), the gnocchi, and the Chocolate Paradiso Cake (need I say more?). Their soups are also divine!

Posted by Miss B. on August 12, 2010
Source: Yelp.com


Excellent service, great for groups (reserve in advance), awesome prices, and truly delicious meals. I love the gnocchi, the bread, the papardelle, and the desserts. Nice place for a romantic date, small groups, or girls' night out. Enjoy!

Posted by Julie L on June 24, 2010
Source: Yelp.com


So my little in my frat loves Italian food, so I wanted to take her to Pomodoro Trattoria. Unfortunately, they were closed for some maintenance, so I took her next door to Sprazzo. I wanted to taste Sprazzo separately, since the last time I went was with a large set-menu party. My little ordered the Fettucine Al Salmone, and I ordered the Pappardelle Alla Martini. While we waited for the food, the bread they gave us was so warm and delicious! I never ate bread so willingly before.

The fettucine was good, although I felt that the smoked salmon was a bit too salty. But, I feel I just prefer non-smoked preparations. My pappardelle was amazing! The chicken was tender and not dry, the pesto cream sauce was salty and creamy without being overwhelming, and the pasta was accordingly thin and had just the right amount of chewiness. Definitely liked my second experience! I will come back again.

Posted by Andrew M. on May 3, 2010
Source: Yelp.com


Started with the Sprazzo salad, which was huge, fresh & crisp with deliciously ripe tomatoes. The fiance had the zucchini soup which was cream-based and also pretty tasty. The gnocchi funghi was delicious; the tomato sauce was very flavorful (though not at all spicy, like the description suggested) and the gnocchi itself was amazing.  I got the appetizer-sized portion which was PLENTY especially since I had the salad. The fiance liked his pasta quattro funghi as well. The wine sauce was pretty sweet (like, sugary sweet not like "yeahhh man sweeeeet") but good.  To top it off, the service was amazing. The guys working there are very friendly. Delicious food and service with a smile; that's why I go out to eat!

We will definitely be back!

Posted by Katy R on September 21, 2009
Source: Yelp.com


Absolute best meat sauce in Los Angeles. If you are in the mood for good old fashioned comfort Italian, this is the place for your next meal. This last week we had our party of nine meet up at Sprazzo's and every single friend said they would be back on their own.

Although I have yet to try anything I didn't like, their pasta bolognese, pasta quattro funghi, arugula salad, and gnocchi of any kind are spectacular. We always order one of their salads to split between multiple people and it works out perfectly. Oh! And the tapenade and balsamic vinegar for the homemade bread are to die for. We've been looking for their sweet, thick balsamic vinegar since we started eating here without any luck.

I'm not a drinker, so I can't say much about the wine. But the creme brulee was only pretty good. Oddly a little too liquidy to top my charts, but still great as creme brulee goes. Service was really sweet and all the staff ate dinner while they waited our late party out after closing. Love this place and would highly recommend.

Posted by Maggie M on September 3, 2009
Source: Yelp.com


This might be the best Italian restaurant I've ever been to. The meal starts out with bread and balsamic that is to die for, its so think you have to sit there for a while and let it pour out slowly from the bottle. The hummus like dip for the bread is addictive as well. The menu is well balanced and has a wonderful selection of hard to find Italian favorites like gnocchi. I highly recommend the chocolate dessert, it is heavenly.Truly a gem and a phenomenal value for the price. Reservations recommended.

Posted by Kreausc on March 22, 2009
Source: losangeles.citysearch.com


I'm not much of a raver, but I will RAVE about the food at Sprazzo. I tried a few bites of their in house made gnocchi (awesome) but the hand made ravioli (I had the portabello) was a divine gift. The have a decent amount on their wine list (I had a pretty good Shiraz there). The seating is quaint and cozy and it's a great date place for someone who wants to impress without being obnoxious or gaudy about it. Go there, now. Why are you sitting around still reading this review?

Posted buy Jenn T on March 15, 2009
Source: Yelp.com


This place is absolutely amazing for authentic italian. They hand make their gnocchi every day and all of their sauces are extremely tasty. I have a friend visiting here from northern italy and I sent him to this place and he said he felt like he was back at home eating italian in his home country which should speak for the quality of the food here. The waiters and service are knowledgeable and can help you with wine pairing too if you need it. You all need to try this place for good italian that won't cost you as much as some of the other places in LA.

Posted by Sarah G. on April 5, 2008
Source: Yelp.com


I love this restaurant! I've been there several times, and it has become my boyfriend and mine's favorite date spot. It's very small and intimate, the food is amazing, and the service is very good. I highly recommend the mushroom ravioli--it's obvious the raviolis and the pasta itself are handmade, and the mushrooms are very fresh. The lasagna is also very good, as is pretty much anything with the "pink" sauce. For dessert, the creme brulee is excellent.

Posted by Marlena M. on March 15, 2008
Source: Yelp.com


Went into Sprazzo last night because I had a coupon from the entertainment book. My god, the pumpkin ravioli was to die for. I am seriously thinking of going a few times a week until February when it's out of season. And to the reviewer that mentioned the vinegar - it IS the best. I have never had better vinegar in all my life.

Posted by clevelandchic on January 18, 2008
Source: losangeles.citysearch.com


Incredible food. We've indulged in this Westwood secret biweekly for over 3 years. Italian food being our favorite cuisine, we've eaten as many places as possible in this city. Having said that, we have no qualms saying that Sprazzo stands as the best Italian place we've had the pleasure of dining at here in Los Angeles, if not country-wide. Usually, you go to an Italian place and they have incredible alfredo, or a great vodka sauce, or a terrific marinara, but at Sprazzo every sauce is amazing. No joke! The pasta is phenominal, from the various delectable gnocchi dishes to the penne cinelli, you truly won't regret your choices. As a first timer, I'd go with the gnocchi, with 9 flavors, all outstanding, you can't go wrong. The complimentary fresh, oven baked bread loaves go great with the balsamic vinegar. On that note, I truly have to say, that the balsamic vinegar itself stands as a single reason to try this restaurant! Average balsamic at Italian joints is too thin, biting, and overpowering. But this vinegar is slightly thicker, smooth, tart, and sweet with a slightly bitter beginning. In other words, it tastes like heaven. The owner, Steve, makes the vinegar by hand in casks. If you've ever had Lodovico's Campari vinegar, aged 15 years in wood casks, you'll think I'm crazy for saying this is better...but it is... Also, I just have to throw in my two cents about the ownership, who've always shown the greatest of courtesy to myself and those in the party who I bring along. Steve has always been extremely polite and has surprised us with complimentary deserts on multiple occasions should our food be not quite be up to par (only once! a slightly overcooked steak, I like it rare!) or take a while to arrive because of a busy night. But, that's just my experience in the 70 or so times I've dined here. TRY IT! YOU'LL BE BACK FOR MORE! YOU'LL CRAVE THE GNOCCHI AND VINEGAR, NO DOUBT.

Posted by woofer_15 on June 10, 2007
Source: losangeles.citysearch.com


My husband and I go to Sprazzo a lot. It's a great casual neighborhood Italian restaurant south of Westwood Village. The food is consistently great. The balsalmic vinegar that they serve with the bread is divine (they make it themselves and might start marketing it - they definitely should!). The service is good.

Posted by bonniez90 on March 10, 2006
Source: losangeles.citysearch.com


I have been to sprazzo a few times and i find the food excellent and most of all consistently so..... it is a romantic place and cozy... I look forward to going many times in the future... I would rate the restaurant a nine out of ten...

Posted by 2lasvegas on December 15, 2006
Source: losangeles.citysearch.com


The owners (husband & wife) of this bistro make dining a truly enjoyable experience. The food is expertly prepared and presented. Their various pasta sauces are very good as is the Chicken Marsala. Daily soups are always first rate.

Posted by sonofrino on September 26, 2005
Source: local.yahoo.com


My husband and I have been "regulars" of Sprazzo for years -- so much so that we have recommended this quaint ristorante to dozens of friends, co-workers and business associates, who have been equally impressed all-around. Sprazzo is one of the few Italian restaurants we have eaten at in Los Angeles that offers exceptional service, authentically flavored dishes, fantastic food quality and very reasonable pricing. This is a family-run establishment that makes welcomes each and every patron that walks through their front door (this restaurant is very much frequented by the regulars daily/nightly).

Sprazzo's menu has everything from their soup du jour to salads, to pizza & pasta, to main entree dishes. Although every menu item is delicious the dishes that my husband & I are quite fond of are their chicken dishes, particularly their chicken marsala and chicken parmigiana. For under $14 you are given a generous portion of chicken breast, a side of their vegetable du jour and their potato or pasta side dish (during our low-carb phases the owners have been very kind in accommodating us by using skinless, non-breaded chicken and eliminating the starches all-together, all the while maintaining the wonderful flavors).

Their shrimp risotto is creamy and complex w/many soothing flavors, and is a nice alternative to comfort food (around $15). And you really can't go wrong with any of the Panini-style sandwiches they offer – made with the freshest of ingredients and brought to you hot off the Panini grill. During the week Sprazzo generally offers a nice daily lunch special menu (it is limited to 5 or 6 items, but they are always yummy) with prices starting around $7.50 for the entrees. This menu changes daily, so there is always something different offered if you want a change from their regular menu.

As you are seated you are provided with a basket of freshly baked, warm bread and their signature spread of the day -- it could be a nice olive & eggplant tepanade, their scrumptious tomato, basil and garlic "salsa" or a pureed chickpea paste w/black olives and cracked pepper. And, if after all that you are in need of something sweet, you must try either the chocolate decadence cake (my husband's favorite) or the tiramisu (locals call it the best tiramisu in the city) with a nice cappuccino or an after dinner drink. Their wine selection if fairly extensive and ranges from $5/glass and up -- they also offer bottles and the prices vary.

The restaurant seats approximately 36 people, but we have never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a table at their busiest (the crowds seems to constantly flow throughout the day, so there never seems to be a waiting list). The only challenge is finding parking at certain times of the day (primarily street/metered parking), but if you don't mind paying a few dollars for valet it may be more viable option. Whether you are looking for authentic Italian food, or just a nice relaxing dining experience, Sprazzo is a must. If you are not sure what to order don't hesitate to ask the owners or their staff for their recommendations -- they have never steered us wrong and are always looking to make each dining experience truly enjoyable.

Posted by Susan_K on March 8, 2005
Source: www.epinions.com